where the writers are
Flyover Lives
Flyover Lives: A Memoir
$26.95
Hardcover
See Book Details »

BOOK DETAILS

  • Hardcover
  • Jan.16.2014
  • 9780670016402
  • Viking
$14.99
Audio Book
See Book Details »

BOOK DETAILS

  • Audio Book
  • Jan.16.2014
  • 9781480575523
  • Viking

Diane gives an overview of the book:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the “wispy but material” family ghosts who shape us Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: “Indifference to history—that’s why you Americans seem so naïve and don’t really know where you’re from.” The j’accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname “The Flyover” gives the region credit for. With the acuity and...
Read full overview »

From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the “wispy but material” family ghosts who shape us

Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: “Indifference to history—that’s why you Americans seem so naïve and don’t really know where you’re from.”

The j’accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname “The Flyover” gives the region credit for.

With the acuity and sympathy that her novels are known for, she captures the magnetic pull of home against our lust for escape and self-invention. This spellbinding memoir will appeal to fans of Bill Bryson, Patricia Hampl, and Annie Dillard.

diane-johnson's picture

Note from the author coming soon...

About Diane

A two-time finalist for both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, Diane Johnson has drawn comparisons to Jane Austen and Edith Wharton with her comedies of manners about Americans living and loving abroad.

Johnson’s books include L’Affaire (2004...

Read full bio »

Published Reviews

Dec.13.2007

Le Divorce … reminds us that even in our own day it remains, as Henry James said, a complex fate to be an American; that one of the difficulties Americanism still entails is taking up a...

Dec.13.2007

For [Johnson], Paris is the Paris most Americans dream of, and for visitors eager to get off the beaten track of tourist sites and follow a more intimate and imaginative route, her book will prove a highly...