where the writers are

Jennifer Niven's Reviews

Reviews of Jennifer’s Work

Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Sep.23.2011
Published by Library Journal
Fans of Velva Jean Learns To Drive, Niven's fictional debut, will welcome back the high-octane Velva Jean as she flees from her husband and North Carolina mountain home for...
Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Aug.23.2011
Published by Publishers Weekly
Niven delivers another tale full of hope, heartbreak, and nostalgia in this sequel to Velva Jean Learns to Drive. Now in her twenties, at the dawn of World War II, heroine Velva...
Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Aug.23.2011
Published by Association of Library Trustees, Advocates, Friends and Foundations
During World War II, more than 1,000 women pilots ferried fighter jets and other military aircraft in a program started by Jacqueline Cochrane called Women Airforce Service...
Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Sep.01.2011
Published by Southern Literary Review
Velva Jean Learns to Fly By Jennifer Niven Reviewed by Philip K. Jason      Jennifer Niven won much praise and many readers with her first novel, Velva Jean...