where the writers are

Michelle Richmond's Books

Golden State
Feb.14.2014
Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.   Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a...
storystarters.jpg
Oct.18.2011
Arranged in a daily progression to help you get the most out of your writing practice, the 50 exercises in this workbook are the result of more than a decade of teaching. Craft-based exercises, free-flow exercises, and ten-minute prompts lead up to a series of imaginative flash fiction assignments. A Halfway There Self-Assessment helps your recognize your strengths and...
No One You Know
Jun.24.2008
"Heartbreaking and compelling…Richmond gracefully weaves in fascinating background material on the coffee culture and the field of mathematics as she thoughtfully explores family dynamics, the ripple effects of tragedy, and the importance of the stories we tell. Combine all that with perfect pacing and depth of insight, and you have a thoroughly riveting literary thriller.”...
fallaway.JPG
Dec.23.2007
A series of locations both familiar and exotic make up the seventeen linked stories in this award-winning debut collection by the New York Times bestselling author of The Year of Fog. Whether leaving, returning, or staying put, the women who narrate these stories are bound to Alabama by history and habit, their voices informed by the landscape and lore of the deep South. In "...
Dream of the Blue Room
Dec.19.2007
Jenny and Amanda Ruth were best friends in a small Alabama town until eighteen-years-old Amanda Ruth was murdered. Now, fourteen years later, Jenny has traveled with her husband to China to scatter Amanda Ruth’s ashes and finally fulfill her friend’s dream of visiting her Chinese father’s homeland. It’s also, Jenny hopes, an opportunity to repair her own troubled marriage. But as...
yearoffogcover.jpg
Mar.27.2007
A Kirkus Reviews Top Pick for Reading Groups A New York Times and interantional bestseller. Visit the author's website  Life changes in an instant. On a foggy beach. In the seconds when Abby Mason—photographer, fiancée soon-to-be-stepmother—looks into her camera and commits her greatest error. Six-year-old Emma vanished into the thick San Francisco fog. Or into the heaving Pacific...
The Great Amphibian
In this award-winning short story, a pregnant woman witnesses an unsettling moment of violence at a model yacht race in Golden Gate Park. Inspired by the story of her famous great-grandfather, a man of strange aquatic gifts who disappeared on Lake Michigan many decades before, she decides to commit her own act of heroism.